Featured Articles

Weekend Wrapup: Ryan Hunter Reay Wins In Long Beach, Rain Delays NASCAR In Texas

Posted in IndyCar, NASCAR, Racing by Kurt Ernst | April 19th, 2010 | Leave a Reply |

Photo: Indy Racing League

You already know that Jenson Button won the F1 Chinese Grand Prix, since we told you about that yesterday. Just in case you forgot to record the Indy Racing League Long Beach Grand Prix, Ryan Hunter Reay gave Andretti Autosport it’s first victory since Tony Kanaan’s win at Richmond in 2008. The race wasn’t much of a nail-biter, and sound pit strategy gave Hunter-Reay the win. Polesitter Will Power looked strong in the opening laps, but a gearbox problem on lap 17 cost him two positions he could not take back.

Justin Wilson, driving for Dreyer & Reinbold, took second and Will Power, driving for Penske Racing, took third. Will Power remains the series points leader with a comfortable 42 point advantage over his teammate, Helio Castroneves.

The NASCAR Sprint Cup race at Texas Motor Speedway was postponed until today because of rain. The Nationwide Series race was also delayed and will be run following today’s Sprint Cup event. The Sprint Cup race will air at noon Eastern on Fox television, followed by the Nationwide Series race at 5:00 on ESPN2.

Tony Stewart has the pole for the Sprint Cup race, with Sam Hornish, Jr., Greg Biffle, Jimmie Johnson and Kasey Kahne rounding out the top five. In the Nationwide series, it’s Joey Logano on pole, followed by Clint Bowyer, Kyle Busch, Carl Edwards and Ricky Stenhouse, Jr..


Our Best Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *