Featured Articles

Indy 500 Qualifying Results

Posted in IndyCar, Newsworthy, Racing by Kurt Ernst | May 23rd, 2010 | Leave a Reply |

Tony Kanaan, who starts from 32nd spot this year

The grid is set for the 94th running of the Indianapolis 500, and some big name drivers and teams failed to make this year’s field. Paul Tracy, driving for KV Racing, pulled his time late in the day after concerns that he’d be bumped. A successive run failed to produce the speed he required, and the clock ran out before Tracy could make a third attempt. AJ Foyt Racing parted ways with A.J. Foyt IV overnight, leaving a driver vacancy for the team. Jacques Lazier made a noble attempt to qualify the car, but couldn’t find the speed needed to make the field. Jay Howard, the second driver for Sarah Fisher Racing, also struggled to find speed in the closing laps, leaving the struggling and underfunded team with a single entry in this year’s race. Sebastian Saavedra, who qualified on the bubble, walled his car hard trying to find more speed; he remains in 33rd position assuming that Bryan Herta Autosport can rebuild his car before next weekend.

The starting order for next weekend’s race, with driver, team and car number, is as follows:

1. Helio Castroneves, Team Penske (3)

2. Will Power, Team Penske (12)

3. Dario Franchitti, Target Chip Ganassi (10)

4. Ryan Briscoe, Team Penske (6)

5. Alex Tagliani, FAZZT Racing (77)

6. Scott Dixon, Target Chip Ganassi (9)

7. Graham Rahal, Rahal Letterman Racing (30)

8. Ed Carpenter, Panther Racing (20)

9. Hideki Mutoh, Newman Haas Racing (06)

10. Townsend Bell, Chip Ganassi Racing (99)

11. Justin Wilson, Dreyer & Reinbold Racing (22)

12. Raphael Matos, deFerran Dragon Racing (2)

13. Mario Moraes, KV Racing Technology (32)

14. Davey Hamilton, deFerran Dragon Racing (21)

15. Mike Conway, Dreyer & Reinbold (24)

16. Marco Andretti, Andretti Autosport (26)

17. Ryan Hunter-Reay, Andretti Autosport (37)

18. Dan Wheldon, Panther Racing, 2:40.3821 (4)

19. E.J. Viso, KV Racing Technology (8)

20. Tomas Scheckter, Dreyer & Reinbold Racing (23)

21. Ana Beatriz, Dreyer & Reinbold Racing (25)

22. Simona de Silvestro, HVM Racing (78)

23. Danica Patrick, Andretti Autosport (7)

Bertrand Baguette, Conquest Racing (36)

25. Bruno Junqueira, FAZZT Race Team (33)

26. Alex Lloyd, Dale Coyne Racing (19)

27. Mario Romancini, Conquest Racing (34)

28. John Andretti, Richard Petty/ Andretti Autosport (43)

Sarah Fisher, Sarah Fisher Racing (67)

30. Vitor Meira, A.J. Foyt Enterprises (14)

31. Takumo Sato, KV Racing Technology (5)

32. Tony Kanaan, Andretti Autosport (11)

33. Sebastian Saavedra, Bryan Herta Autosport (29)

Our Best Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *