Featured Articles

Daytona 500 Grid Set

Posted in NASCAR, Newsworthy, Racing by Kurt Ernst | February 12th, 2010 | Leave a Reply |
Mark Martin 2010

Mark Martin, polesitter for Sunday's Daytona 500. Photo: Rusty Jarrett, Getty Images

Based on last weekend’s two lap, single car time trial, Mark Martin has qualified on the pole and Dale Earnhardt Jr. has the outside of the front row for Sunday’s Daytona 500.

Thursday’s Gatorade Duel races and last year’s top 35 in owner points established the rest of the pecking order. Rounding out the top ten are last year’s NASCAR champ Jimmie Johnson, Kasey Kahne, Kevin Harvick, Tony Stewart, Kyle Busch, Juan Pablo Montoya, Clint Bower and Kurt Busch.

Max Papis, Mike Bliss, Scott Speed and Michael McDowell earned spots in Sunday’s race by being the four highest finishing drivers outside the top 35 in 2009 owners points.

Other notables in Sunday’s 43 car field include multi-series competitors Sam Hornish, Jr., Robby Gordon and perennial road-course favorite Boris Said.

Source: Autoweek

Our Best Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *