Featured Articles

Action Express Racing Wins Grand Am Rolex 24 Hours of Daytona

Posted in Newsworthy, Porsche, Racing by Kurt Ernst | January 31st, 2010 | Leave a Reply |
Action Express Racing Riley Porsche

Action Express Racing Riley Porsche

In the motor sports underdog story of the year (so far), a team that made it’s first public appearance in December 2009 has won the Rolex 24 Hours of Daytona. Action Express Racing defeated perennial favorites Brumos Porsche and Ganassi Racing, with a well used Riley chassis running a bastardized privateer motor that began life in a Porsche Cayenne. Since Porsche neither builds the motor nor sanctions it for racing, they will not claim the win as a victory for Porsche.

Drivers Joao Barbosa, Terry Borcheller, Ryan Dalziel and Mike Rockenfeller led 316 of 755 laps and crossed the finish line fifty two seconds ahead of their closest competitor, the Ganassi BMW Riley driven by Scott Pruett. This year’s race featured plenty of drama, including a start under yellow for rain and the early retirement of the heavily favored second Ganassi BMW Riley, which led 144 laps before going out with a blown motor.

The GT class was won by Jonathan Bomarito, Nick Ham, David Haskell, and Sylvain Tremblay, driving a Mazda RX-8 for SpeedSource Racing

Our Best Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *